Mestres

Mainly two Mestres have influenced Capoeira as it exists nowadays:
 
Mestre Bimba
Mestre Bimba
Manuel dos Reis Machado alias Mestre Bimba was a brazilian capoeirista and is referred to as the founder of the modern Capoeira Regional.

He was born in Salvador de Bahia on 23 november 1900. Back then he already received his nickname, Bimba. His mother (Maria Martinha do Bomfim) was convinced to give birth to a girl. The midwife though bet against the mother's conviction. When the child was born and it was obvious that it was a boy the midwife shouted out "Bimba" as in Bahia the male genital is called.

The still young Manoel learned the wild and violent African fight from his father (Luiz Cândido Machado), a master of this art called batuque. Here the objective is to knock down the opponent only with the help of your legs.

By the age of 12 years Mestre Bimba had his first contact with Capoeira. As a student of Bentinho, a captain of the shipping company of Bahia, learned the historical dance/fight for four years. Afterwards he began to teach this style for ten years at the harbour authority in Bahia.

By the time got the impression that Capoeira might evolve. According to his opinion Capoeira offered too little combat operation and served only anymore for shows in places and markets. This made him worry that Capoeira within the shadows of other martial arts such as Judo or Karate could be extinct. Therefore he connected Capoeira with Batuque to emphasize the movements with more agility and to create a more motivated dynamic and acrobatic game.

During the days in which Mestre Bimba had grown up Capoeira was an outlawed streetfight and the execution was prohibited by law. Those who did it anyway where hunted down and often punished heavily. Therefore Capoeira was not taught in schools. Mestre Bimba skirted this prohibition by teaching his "new" Capoeira und the cover name „Luta Regional Baiana“ (regional fight of Bahia) in his studio. By consequence he founded the the first Capoeira studio in Bahia in 1932.

During these days Brazil went through a phase of many changes on a political, cultural and social level. Within the modernisation Bimba was finally able to bring his Capoeira style to public and therefore in the year 1936 there was the first public performance. One year after he was invited to the governmental palace to perform in front of various personalities from state, administration and society. Mestre Bimba convinced his audience of this Capoeira Regional so that finally it was nominated Brazil's national sport. After these events his school was recognized by law the 23, june 1937, as the first one in Brazil.

By the year 1942 he founded his second Capoeira school (academia) in Terreiro de Jesus, which until today under the direction of his former student Mestre Vermelho (nowadays Mestre Bamba).

Mestre Bimba taught many students as well as numerous personalities of Bahia's social and political life if they passed the entrance examinations. Although he did not nominate any Mestre during his whole lifetime.

1972 Mestre Bimba participated in his last „Batizado“ and died in 15, february 1974 from a cerebral haemorrhage at a hospital in Goiânia. Disappointed by deceptive promises of the government, lack of support and financial problems unfortunately he was not anymore able to see how Capoeira developed and how much it is appreciated today.
 
Mestre Pastinha
Mestre Pastinha
"My friend, I was made from ashes, destined from nature to being a Capoeirista. I learned willpower through joy not with sadness."

Vicente Ferreira Pastinha, was born on April 15, 1889, son of a Spanish man and a metis with african roots. His father was a merchant within the historical center of Salvador da Bahia, his mother lived from selling "aracajé" and washing for various families. For the first time as a small boy Pastinha got to know the art of Capoeira. The story for this is the following: an older and stronger boy from the neighborhood had often beaten him up. One day Benedito saw this and asked Pastinha to come to his house where he would teach him a few things. He inculcated him not to provoke his opponent but to hide his fighting knowledge as good as possible. During the next encounter with the older boy Pastinha defeated him so fast that the older one became his admirer.

During his youth he took painting classes in the mornings at the art school Liceu de Artes e Ofício; in the afternoons he played with paper kites and learned Capoeira. He continued his training with Benedito for three years. Since his father did not agree with his Capoeira fights he sent him to a naval academy. Therefore he could not further pursue his own training but he taught his friends at school how to do Capoeira. At the age of 21 years he left the school in order to become a painter. In his spare time though he still secretly trained Capoeira which was still illegal in Brazil by that time.

In 1941 Mestre Pastinha followed the invitation of Aberrè, one of his former students, and participated in a Sunday roda at the "Ladeira do Gengibirra" in the quarter of "Liberdade". Many of the best masters were present here.

Aberrê had been famous for a long time in those rodas and when Pastinha spent one afternoon there, Mestre Amorzinho, one of the best masters of Bahia, asked him if he wouldn't teach Capoeira Angola. By consequence in 1942 Pastinha founde the first school for Capoeira Angola, the „Centro Esportivo de Capoeira Angola“ in the Pelourinho quarter. His students wore black pants and yellow t-shirts, the colors of Pastinhas favourite soccer club "Ypiranga Futebol Clube".

He was part of the brazilian delegation at the „First International Festival de Artes Negras“ in Dakar (Senegal). Other popular masters in this festival were Mestre João Grande, Mestre Gato Preto, Mestre Gildo Alfinete, Mestre Roberto Satanás and Camafeu de Oxossi.

Pastinha has travelled a lot through the world in order to represent Brazil throughout Capoeira. He used all his talents in order to promote the art. He wrote a book, he painted and wrote poems in order to show the basis of defense and attack. He organised public presentations for those who did not yet know the beauty of Capoeira. He incentivated men, children and even the wives of his students to train Capoeira because he was convinced that this art would be good for anybody.

At the age of 84 his sport center was closed down by the administration and he had to continue living in a small room with his second wife, Dona Maria Romélia, alias Dona Nice, as they called her endearingly. They only lived from the selling of "aracajé" that his wife prepared and from the help of his friends.

On april, 12, 1981, he participated for the last time in a roda. He finally had to move into a doss house in Salvador. On friday, 13, november 1981 Pastinha died at the age of 92 years as a broken man in bitterness about his treatment.

Only two of his best students are still alive, Mestre João Grande and Mestre João Pequeno, who are still disseminating Pastinhas legacy in this world.

"Capoeira is the most popular among the fighting arts, god designed is pure and beautiful."
 
Professor Jorge Linguado
Jorge Linguado was the first teacher of the two brothers Edivanilson Amaro (Toupeira) and José Elenildo da Silva (Fominha), nowadays Contra Mestre and Professor. He taught them at the Academia Arte Viva in Boa Viagem, a quarter of Recife.
As for any Capoeirista the first teacher has a very distinct impact for the further evolution of this person in this sport: he teaches the basics concerning the movements and the game and ignites the enthusiasm for the elements of this rich culture!
In the case of Toupeira and Fominha they have lost their first teacher early when he died unexpectedly in a travel to Brasilia. In order to honor him they named their own group Linguado Capoeira München when they founded it in 2007.

Mestres

Im wesentlichen haben zwei Mestres die Capoeira, wie sie heute existiert, geprägt:
 
Mestre Bimba
Mestre Bimba
Manuel dos Reis Machado, auch Mestre Bimba genannt, war ein brasilianischer Capoeirista und gilt als Begründer der heutigen Capoeira Regional.

Geboren wurde er am 23.11.1900 in Salvador de Bahia. Damals erhielt er auch bereits seinen Spitznamen, Bimba. Seiner Mutter (Maria Martinha do Bomfim) war damals überzeugt, ein Mädchen auf die Welt zu bringen. Die Hebamme jedoch wettete gegen die Überzeugung der Mutter. Als das Kind zur Welt kam und man erkennen konnte, dass es ein Junge war, rief die Hebamme „Bimba“, wie in Bahia das männliche Geschlechtsorgan genannt wird.

Von seinem Vater (Luiz Cândido Machado), einem Meister dieser Kunst, erlernte der damals noch junge Manuel (Mestre Bimba) den wilden und gewalttätigen afrikanischen Kampf, genannt Batuque. Hier ist es das Ziel, den Gegner allein mit Hilfe der Beine zu Fall zu bringen.

Im Alter von 12 Jahren kam Mestre Bimba dann das erste Mal mit Capoeira in Kontakt und erlernte als Schüler von Bentinho, ein Kapitän der Schifffahrtsgesellschaft von Bahia, vier Jahre lang den damaligen Kampftanz. Danach begann er selbst zehn Jahre lang den damaligen Capoeira-Stil bei der Hafenverwaltung in Bahia zu unterrichten.

Mit der Zeit entwickelte sich bei Mestre Bimba jedoch der Eindruck, dass sich die Capoeira verändern müsste. Seiner Meinung nach bot Capoeira zu wenig Kampfhandlung und diente lediglich noch für Vorführungen auf Plätzen und Märkten. Dies weckte in ihm auch die Besorgnis, dass Capoeira im Schatten anderen Kampfkünste, wie z. B. Judo oder Karate, aussterben könnte. Daher verknüpfte er Capoeira mit Batuque, um mehr Agilität in die Bewegungen zu bringen und somit ein motiviertes, dynamisches und akrobatisches Spiel zu schaffen.

Zur damaligen Zeit, in der Mestre Bimba aufgewachsen ist, war Capoeira ein geächteter Straßenkampf und das Ausüben war gesetzlich verboten. Wer Capoeira dennoch anwendete wurde gejagt und oftmals sogar sehr schwer bestraft! Somit wurde Capoeira auch nicht an Schulen unterrichtet. Mestre Bimba umging dieses Verbot jedoch und unterrichtete seine „neue“ Capoeira unter dem Decknamen „Luta Regional Baiana“ (Regionalkampf von Bahia) in seinem Studio. Das erste Capoeira-Studio gründete er somit im Jahre 1932 in Bahia.

Zu dieser Zeit durchlief Brasilien auch eine Phase vieler Änderungen auf politischer, kultureller und sozialer Ebene. Durch die Modernisierung war es Mestre Bimba schließlich möglich, seinen Capoeira-Stil publik zu machen und so gab er im Jahr 1936 seine erste öffentliche Vorstellung. Ein Jahr darauf wurde er eingeladen im Regierungspalast, vor diversen wichtigen Persönlichkeiten aus Staat, Verwaltung und Gesellschaft, aufzutreten. Mestre Bimba überzeugte seine Zuschauer von seiner Capoeira Regional, so dass Capoeira letztendlich auch zum Nationalsport Brasiliens ernannt wurde. Durch diese Ereignisse wurde sogar Mestre Bimbas Capoeira-Schule am 23.06.1937, als erste in Brasilien, gesetzlich anerkannt.

Im Jahr 1942 gründete er seine zweite Capoeira-Schule (Academia) in Terreiro de Jesus, die auch heute noch unter der Leitung seines damaligen Schülers, Mestre Vermelho (heute Mestre Bamba), steht.

Mestre Bimba unterrichtete viele Schüler, auch zahlreiche Persönlichkeiten des politischen und sozialen Lebens in Bahia, sofern sie seine Aufnahmeprüfungen bestanden. Er ernannte in seiner gesamten Capoeirazeit jedoch keinen einzigen Mestre.

1972 nahm Mestre Bimba an seiner letzten „Batizado“ teil und verstarb am 15.02.1974 an einer Gehirnblutung in einem Krankenhaus in Goiânia. Verbittert von falschen Versprechungen der Regierung, Mangel an Unterstützung und finanziellen Problemen war es ihm leider nicht möglich mitzuerleben, wie sich seine Capoeira entwickelt hat und heute respektiert wird.
 
Mestre Pastinha
Mestre Pastinha
"Mein Freund, ich war schon von der Natur bestimmt, aus Asche geschaffen, Capoeirista zu werden. Ich lernte Willenskraft mit Freude, nicht mit Traurigkeit."

Vicente Ferreira Pastinha, geboren am 15. April 1889, Sohn eines Spaniers und einer Mestize schwarzafrikanischer Abstammung. Sein Vater war ein Händler im historischen Zentrum von Salvador, seine Mutter lebte vom Verkauf von "aracajé" und dem waschen für verschiedene Familien. Als kleiner Junge lernte Pastinha die Capoeirakunst kennen. Hierzu gibt es eine kleine Geschichte: ein älterer und stärkerer Junge aus der Nachbarschaft hatte ihn häufig verprügelt. Eines Tages sah Benedito dieses und bat Pastinha, zu seinem Haus zu kommen, wo er ihm einige Dinge beibringen werde. Er schärfte ihm ein, seinen Gegner nicht zu provozieren, sondern seine Kampfkenntnisse so gut als möglich zu verbergen. Beim nächsten Zusammentreffen mit dem Jungen soll Pastinha ihn so schnell besiegt haben, dass der ältere Junge zu seinem Bewunderer wurde.

Während seiner Jugend besuchte er morgens Malkurse an der Kunstschule Liceu de Artes e Ofício; während der Nachmittage spielte er mit Papierdrachen und lernte Capoeira. Er führte sein Training mit Benedito drei Jahre fort. Da sein Vater mit seinen Capoeirakämpfen nicht einverstanden war, schickte er ihn auf eine Marineakademie. Er konnte deshalb sein Training nicht weiterführen, brachte aber auf der Schule seinen Freunden Capoeira bei. Im Alter von 21 Jahren verließ er die Schule, um ein hauptberuflich Maler zu werden. In seiner Freizeit trainierte er im Geheimen weiterhin Capoeira, was zu dieser Zeit in Brasilien immer noch illegal war.

Mestre Pastinha nahm 1941, einer Einladung von Aberrê, seinem früheren Schüler, folgend, an einer sonntäglichen Roda auf der "Ladeira do Gengibirra" im Stadtteil "Liberdade" teil. Hier waren die besten Meister anzutreffen.

Aberrê war schon lange berühmt in diesen Rodas und nachdem Pastinha einen Nachmittag dort verbracht hatte, fragte ihn einer der besten Meister von Bahia, Mestre Amorzinho, ob er nicht Capoeira Angola unterrichten wolle. Als Ergebnis gründete Pastinha 1942 die erste Capoeira Angola-Schule, das „Centro Esportivo de Capoeira Angola“ im Stadtteil Pelourinho. Seine Schüler trugen schwarze Hosen und gelbe T-Shirts, die gleichen Farben die der "Ypiranga Futebol Clube" benutzte, Pastinha´s Lieblingsclub.

Er nahm mit der brasilianischen Delegation am „First International Festival de Artes Negras“ in Dakar (Senegal), teil. An diesem Festival waren auch Mestre João Grande, Mestre Gato Preto, Mestre Gildo Alfinete, Mestre Roberto Satanás und Camafeu de Oxossi dabei.

Pastinha ist viel durch die Welt gereist, um Brasilien durch die Capoeira zu repräsentieren. Er nutzte alle seine Talente um sich für sie einzusetzen. Er schrieb ein Buch. Er malte und schrieb Poesie, um Fundamente der Verteidigung und des Angriffes zu zeigen. Er organisierte Präsentationen für alle, die die Schönheit der Capoeira noch nicht kannten. Er regte Männer, Kinder und sogar Ehefrauen seiner Schüler zum Capoeiraunterricht an, da er glaubte, dass diese Kunst für ALLE geeignet sei.

Als er 84 Jahre alt war, wurde sein Sportzentrum von der Verwaltung geschlossen und er musste in einem kleinen Zimmer mit seiner zweiten Ehefrau, Dona Maria Romélia, oder Dona Nice, wie sie zärtlich genannt wurde, wohnen. Sie lebten nur vom Verkauf von "aracajé", die seine Frau anfertigte und von der Hilfe seiner Freunde.

Am 12. April 1981 trat er zum letzten Mal in der Roda an. Am Ende wurde er in einem Obdachlosenheim in Salvador einquartiert. An einem Freitag, am 13. November 1981, starb Pastinha mit 92 Jahren als gebrochener Mann in Bitterkeit über seine Behandlung.

Nur zwei seiner besten Schüler sind noch übrig, Mestre João Grande und Mestre João Pequeno, die weiterhin Pastinhas Erbe in der Welt verbreiten.

"Capoeira ist unter allen Kampfkünsten am beliebtesten, Gott zeichnete sie als pur und schön."
 
Professor Jorge Linguado

Jorge Linguado war der erste Lehrer der beiden Brüder Edivanilson Amaro (Toupeira) und José Elenildo da Silva (Fominha), heute Contra Mestre und Professor. Er unterrichtete sie in der Academia Arte Viva in Boa Viagem, einem Stadtteil von Recife.

Wie für nahezu jeden Capoeirista, so auch für die zwei Brüder, hat der erste Lehrer einen prägenden Einfluss auf die weitere Laufbahn der Person in diesem Sport: er unterrichtet die Grundlagen in der Bewegung, im Spiel, in der Musik, und entfacht die Begeisterung für die Elemente dieser reichhaltigen Kultur!

Im Falle von Toupeira und Fominha haben diese ihren ersten Lehrer früh verloren, als dieser auf einer Reise nach Brasilia überraschend verstarb. Ihm zu Ehren benannten sie 2007 ihre erste eigene Gruppe Linguado Capoeira München.